Coverart for item
The Resource Beasts & children, Amy Parker

Beasts & children, Amy Parker

Label
Beasts & children
Title
Beasts & children
Statement of responsibility
Amy Parker
Title variation
Beasts and children
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In the tradition of Lorrie Moore, Claire Vaye Watkins, and Rebecca Lee, this debut story collection cuts into the sometimes dark heart of the American family. From the tense territory of a sagging, grand porch in Texas to a gated community in steamy Thailand to a lonely apartment in nondescript suburbia, these linked stories unwind the lives of three families as they navigate ever-shifting landscapes. Wry and sharp, dark and subversive, they keep watch as these characters make the choices that will change the course of their lives and run into each other in surprising, unforgettable ways. The Bowmans are declining Texas gentry, heirs to an airline fortune, surrounded by a patriarch's stuffed trophies and lost dreams. They will each be haunted by the past as they strive to escape its force. The Fosters are diplomats' kids who might as well be orphans. Jill and Maizie grow up privileged amid poverty, powerless to change the lives of those around them and uncertain whether they have the power to change their own. The Guzmans have moved between Colombia and the United States for two generations, each seeking opportunity for the next, only to find that the American dream can be as crushing as it is elusive. Amy Parker'ss debut collection considers--with an unfailingly observant eye--our failures and our successes, our fractures and our connections, our impact and our evanescence. She marks herself a worthy heir to the long tradition of smart women casting cool and careful glances at the American middle class"--
Member of
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1975-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Parker, Amy
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3616.A7434
LC item number
A6 2016
Literary form
short stories
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • FICTION / Literary
  • FICTION / Short Stories (single author)
  • Families
Label
Beasts & children, Amy Parker
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
The white elephant -- Rainy season -- The balcony -- Endangered creatures -- Beasts and children -- Catastrophic molt -- The corpse diver -- Sunfish -- A neighborly day for a beauty -- Grace
Control code
1634443
Dimensions
21 cm
Extent
306 pages
Isbn
9780544370135
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Lccn
2015027946
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (Sirsi) 1634443
  • (OCoLC)898052743
Label
Beasts & children, Amy Parker
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
The white elephant -- Rainy season -- The balcony -- Endangered creatures -- Beasts and children -- Catastrophic molt -- The corpse diver -- Sunfish -- A neighborly day for a beauty -- Grace
Control code
1634443
Dimensions
21 cm
Extent
306 pages
Isbn
9780544370135
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Lccn
2015027946
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (Sirsi) 1634443
  • (OCoLC)898052743

Library Locations

    • Newburyport Public LibraryBorrow it
      94 State Street, Newburyport, MA, 01950, US
      42.808951 -70.8711658
Processing Feedback ...